be a better blogger

 

FullSizeRender (1)

One of my thirty before thirty goals is to be better at blogging.

Current blogging status: I have a day off and do something really cool so I post a bunch of pictures and brag about it OR find myself stressed/frustrated/mad about an issue facing our society/world and I type furiously until I feel like I have proved my point.

My current state is inconsistent and hard to follow. I don’t have themes. I don’t talk about what I am passionate about as a person, I talk about what I am passionate about in the moment. So, in an attempt to actually commit to a blog, and do it well, I have created some themes and a plan for how I want to evolve. My hope is that I can be more consistent, that I can write about the things that really excite me, and because I will write more often I will be less likely to get mad and take it out on the internet at large… I’d rather share knowledge and create conversations about controversial issues instead of finding myself on a soapbox. So, here are the themes I am passionate about:

  1. The Fashion Industry. And more specifically how it all works. I want to talk about some of the details, the myths, the ethics that are a part of this industry that I love. I want to talk about where my industry falls short and where it is leading the pack. And I want to talk about the things I love: Fashion week, new trends, brands/stores I love and my own closet.
  2. Body Image. Man, this one will really get me going. I have so much to say on body image as a whole so stay tuned but more specifically I want to talk about eating disorders, how to shop for and dress for your body instead of trying to make your body fit a specific trend, and my attempts to be healthier.
  3. Politics. I love politics and the political system more than is probably considered sane. I love learning about it, reading about it, researching it. I love talking about it. I love discussing issues. I love disagreeing (when both sides can be respectful) And I think of anything I write about, this is the one that I have a tendency to get a little soapboxy on. But I think the issues that face our political leaders are important and we should be discussing them as the gen pub. So I want to approach controversial issues and instead of being mad, I want to be more honest in what I am confused about. I want to ask questions to start conversations… so I need y’all to comment 🙂
  4. Lastly, Thirty before Thirty updates. It’s fun, it’s a race against the clock. How many things will I check off before March 1st, 2019.

Right now, I want to write once a week. Because that will be one more than my current average. Ha! Once I’ve mastered that I will go for two or three. So, stay tuned! I’m excited to write and if you have something you want me to talk about let me know! If I feel knowledgeable enough, I’ll see what I can do 🙂

Leave a comment